An Introduction

Hi! I’m Jackie, your eponymous TV-producer-turned-MBA-student. Originally from the Bay Area, I majored in Radio / TV / Film at Northwestern University, where I fell in love with producing and spent a whole lot of time on student film sets. I moved to LA two weeks after graduation to start my producing career, and after paying my dues as an assistant, I started working as a freelance producer in reality TV. Over the past few years I’ve worked on shows like The Biggest Loser for NBC, Whodunnit for ABC, and my personal favorite, The Tester for PlayStation Network (gotta love those gamers!).

About a year and a half ago, I realized that as much as I loved producing, I was ready for a new challenge. The thought of becoming a showrunner–the light at the end of the tunnel of my producing career–didn’t excite me any more. I took the opportunity to think broadly about what new function I wanted to move into, and I decided to transition into marketing, specifically the intersection of big data and entertainment marketing. And I decided to make that transition by getting my MBA.

I had no idea what I was doing when I applied to business school. I didn’t have a traditional resume, I didn’t own a blazer, and I didn’t know how to translate my experience from production-speak to business school lingo. But after over a year of preparation, introspection, and the emotional roller coaster of MBA applications, I’m now getting ready to head back to Northwestern as part of Kellogg’s class of 2017.

Now that I’m on the other side of application hell (I mean, it’s not that bad…for some people…more on that later), I’m passionate about sharing my experiences to support other non-traditional applicants, especially creatives and entertainment folks. It’s extra-challenging to build your application narrative as a non-traditional applicant, but the silver lining is that your unique perspective really is valued by adcoms and really will be valuable to your future classmates (or so I’ve been told…more on that later too, I’m sure).

So there you have it! I’ll be posting about the strategies and lessons I learned while applying to school, along with updates from campus once I get there. And now that you’ve met me, I’d love to meet you too! Drop a line in the comments; hope to see you around!

Jackie

One thought on “An Introduction

Leave a Reply

