Three Weeks In: Just Too Much to Keep Track Of

I’m three weeks in to my Kellogg experience, and a LOT has already happened. I became a little b school famous, survived orientation, finished two pre-term classes (including finals last weekend), had my last first day of school on Monday, and have already interviewed for extracurricular leadership positions.

People were not kidding when they said that starting an MBA program is like trying to drink from a fire hose, and I’m working on some posts about my first experiences at Kellogg to give you a sense of what that’s been like. Stay tuned for those!

In the meantime, I’ve got a couple of articles to share with you! The first is a fun article from Kaplan Prep: “4 Unlikely TV Shows MBA Students Can Learn From.” The second is a truly fantastic Forté blog post, “Be Willing to Take the Hits,” about a current Forté MBALauncher’s experience with the application process.


Be Willing to Take the Hits

Some highlights:

“One of the most rewarding, yet one of the most uncomfortable, parts of the MBA admissions process is getting to know yourself – especially what made you who you are today, which can sometimes include difficult hardships or memories. […T]hrough introspection, I found a way to professionally incorporate my skills with my passion and have the courage to own it.”

“You’re going to get knocked down, you’re going to wonder why you didn’t just stay where you were, but then you realize why you got in the ring. Applying to MBA programs is hard. Writing multiple essays is hard. […] Explaining to family members, spouses, and friends that you want to step out of the workforce for a couple of years is hard. But guess what – wondering why you never tried your dream job – that’s harder.”

I hope these quotes inspire you to dig deep and kick ass on your applications! They make me so excited for you and the journey ahead of you!!

(Also, congratulations to everyone who submitted in round 1 so far! I hope you have a chance to celebrate that accomplishment — you deserve it!)

Image courtesy of ABC Studios.

Leave a Reply

